INLAND WATERWAYS ASSOCIATION OF IRELAND

LOUGH ERNE BRANCH

Minutes of the twelfth Annual General Meeting held at Lough Erne Yacht Club on Saturday 14 November 2015 at 1800 Hours

PRESENT

Officers, Committee, and members, in total 50 persons.

PROCEEDINGS

The meeting was opened with our chairman and secretary explaining the situation that the branch finds itself in, and this was followed by the Chairman's Report;

To be inserted by Webmaster.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

John Weir, proposed by Des Hogg to be chairman, was seconded and took the chair to conduct the election of the remaining officers and committee.

Mae Burke was proposed as secretary but she declined.

Willie Fiddis proposed Robert Navan as secretary, seconded by Des Hogg, but he declined.

Des Hogg was proposed as secretary by Mae and Walter Burke, but he declined. Des Hogg proposed Jim Henning but he declined. Jim stated his reason that with advanced age, brought on by serving over many years, it was time for someone who had benefited from his work and is younger to step forward.

Des Hogg proposed a caretaker secretary, and Mike Kingston expressed his views as to where the branch should be heading.

John Weir then asked would all members of the existing committee be prepared to continue on, to which there was general agreement, apart from the retiring Jim Henning. Eric Mayne was proposed for committee but he declined.

A proposal was made for the continuance of John Weir as Chairman, Alan Cousins as Treasurer, without as yet a secretary. Mike Kingston stated that the first proposal allows the branch to continue, and this was accepted by the meeting.

OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE FOR 2016;

Chairman - John Weir

Treasurer - Alan Cousins Secretary - Vacancy Committee so far - Mike Kingston, Mervyn Rolls, Frank Woods All other posts to be decided.

AOB

Trevor Whittaker asked what is the position between the Belturbet and Lough Erne Branches. Fees have to be duplicated if a person wishes to a member of both.

Winding up John Weir thanked everyone for attending, stating that the attendance was the largest he could remember.

The AGM closed at 1900 hours.